Skip to main content

About Us

About us

In order to be able to care for patients with rare diseases optimally and at the state of the art, close and interdisciplinary cooperation of experts is required. The ZSEER has joined forces with numerous clinics and institutes of the University Hospital Erlangen that deal intensively with rare diseases. In addition to the Type A Center, there are currently nine disease- and disease-group-specific specialist centers (Type B Centers) within the ZSEER, which work intensively clinically and fundamentally on the respective disease entities and are integrated into national and international networks.


For people who suffer from previously unexplained symptoms and may therefore be affected by a rare disease, it is important to put themselves in experienced hands. That is why the care of patients, whether in the diagnosis or the necessary therapy, is our top priority.

The establishment of Centres for Rare Diseases is closely linked to the National Action Alliance for People with Rare Diseases (NAMSE). This is an association between the Federal Ministry of Health (BMG), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Alliance of Chronic Rare Diseases (ACHSE e.V.) with 25 alliance partners - exclusively leading and umbrella organisations of the main stakeholders in the health care system in the field of rare diseases.

The structure of the ZSEER

Struktur des ZSEER



Typ A Zentrum

Prof. Dr. Beate Winner

Prof. Dr. André Reis
Prof. Dr. Regina Trollmann

Typ B Zentren

Centre for Ectodermal Dysplasia ErlangenProf. Dr. Holm Schneider  Prof. Dr. Michael Sticherling
Centre for Rare Movement DisordersProf. Dr. Jürgen WinklerDr. med. Franz Marxreiter
Centre for Rare Developmental DisordersProf. Dr. André ReisProf. Dr. Regina Trollmann
Centre for Rare Immunologic DiseasesProf. Dr. Bernhard MangerProf. Dr. Thomas Harrer
Centre for Rare Liver, Pancreatic and Bowel DiseasesPD Dr. med. André HörningProf. Dr. med. Yurdagül Zopf
Centre for Rare Neuromuscular DiseasesProf. Dr. Dr. h. c. Stefan SchwabProf. Dr. Regina Trollmann
Centre for Rare Kidney DiseasesProf. Dr. med. Mario SchifferProf. Dr. med. Michael Wiesener
Centre for Tuberous Sclerosis and Rare EpilepsiesProf. Dr. Regina TrollmannProf. Dr. Hajo Hamer
Centre for Cystic Fibrosis and Rare Lung DiseasesDr. Alexander KieferDr. Sabine Zirlik